Donate   |   Find A Member   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Online Store: Maps
Main Storefront

NDSU #3 – Volga German Color Maps

Item Options
Sign in for your pricing!
Price: $20.00
Quantity: *
NDSU #3 – Volga German Color Maps
Size: 11 x 17 inches double-sided color, laminated
A specially-designed geographic map for easy identification of 1) 18th century mother colonies, Germanic charter districts, and historic Russian cantons; 2) 19th century daughter villages, Russian provinces, plus Sarepta district and Old Samara district; and 3) fourteen 20th century Republic kantons with boundary outlines.

Most German colonies were established near the Volga River in the Czarist provinces of Saratov and Samara. “Bergseite” on the Volga River’s west bank is a portion of Saratov province. “Wiesenseite” on the Volga River’s east bank is a portion of Samara province. The 18th century charter-districts of Catherine, Pokrowsk, and Warenburg were established along the Volga River in Samara province.

An accompanying map supplement includes a printed list of 107 “mother colonies” by village name, transliterated names, founding dates, and Mercator grid co-ordinates.

Visual symbols identify religious affiliation of Lutheran/Reformed, Catholic, and Mennonite villages. Mother colonies and daughter villages are distinguished by color code and century founding. Saratov city and Engels/Pokrowsk (Republic capital) with kanton capitals are indicated with a surround circle.

The double-sided color map has additional “extract” maps on reverse side to identify: 1) a hachured geographic overlay of German Volga Republic upon historic Czarist provinces of Samara and Saratov; 2) German “Old Samara” daughter villages; and 3) Sarepta, a German city famed for silk and wool textiles manufacturing in historic Czarist province of Astrakhan.
Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal